Friday 28 September 2012

Labour Storm From Fourth To First In Norfolk County Council By-Election

LABOUR has won a landslide victory in the Norfolk County Council by-election on Thursday 27th September 2012.

Alexandra Kemp has taken the Clenchwarton and South Lynn seat from the Conservative party, taking Labour from fourth to first.

Key issues in the election proved to be the autocratic rule of Tory run Norfolk County Council, who refuse to accept any criticism to big business plans to build a huge incinerator locally and growing anger at cuts in NHS services such as ambulance services.

Hundreds of people turned out to vote inelection, which was called after the death of David Harwood earlier this year.

This ward is part of North West Norfolk constituency once held by the great agricultural labourers leader Joseph Arch and in 1997 by Labour's George Turner

Alexandra Kemp (Labour) - 824


Paul Foster (Con) - 424

Kate Sayer (Lib Dem) - 282

Michael Stone (UKIP) - 271

2009 Result

Con 1015
Lib Dem 743
BNP 313
Labour 301
Green 214